THE 2024 AJO Memorial was held on consecutive Saturdays recently.

Members of both Tenby and Trefloyne Golf Clubs are eligible to enter either or both of the legs.

The late Arthur Ormond MBE was captain, president and a life member at Tenby GC.

He was managing rditor of the Tenby Observer and also enjoyed playing at Trefloyne GC.

AJO Bowl – Men

The first leg was held on the Tenby GC links which was in a superb overall condition. The greens were slick but the rough was thick.

Trefloyne’s Andrew Gillard and Tenby’s Gavin Scotcher shared top spot with 42 points each.

Gavin’s gross 67 (five under par) was a fantastic round.

Home players Sam Christopher and Ian Draisey both had 40 points and Phil Gooch and Jonathan Goldsmith came in with 39 points each.

Trefloyne’s Paul Lloyd and Eamonn Thomas both scored 38 points.

Despite the stiff breeze, there were 20 cards showing 35 points or better.

Although the greens were a little slower at Trefloyne GC for the second leg, the fairways, semi-rough and bunkers were all well presented.

The weather was reasonable although there were a few showers throughout the day.

Trefloyne’s Rob Nixon scored a magnificent 49 points. In fact, it should have been 50 or 51 points as he took four putts on the 18th green after hitting it in three shots.

As expected, the better scores were posted by Trefloyne GC members.

Simon Arthur and his son Finnan had 38 points and 37 points.

David Crowley, Kyle McKeown and Gareth Roberts scored 36 points, 35 points and 34 points respectively.

Tenby’s John Morris and Adam Thomas both boasted 34 points as did Trefloyne’s Tom Wright.

Consequently, despite scoring just 25 points at Tenby, Rob Nixon’s fabulous second round gave him a total of 74 points and thus he is this year’s winner of the AJO Memorial.

His son in law Darren Turner was champion in 2022.

Simon Arthur was a close runner-up with 73 points and Andrew Gillard claimed third place with 70 points.

Tenby Observer Cup

This is awarded to the golfer with the best “gross” aggregate over 36 holes.

After a tough week at the Welsh Seniors in Aberdovey, Gavin Scotcher struggled at Trefloyne but his total of 65 points was good enough to retain the T.O. Cup by two shots from fellow Tenby member John Morris.

Lynne Campbell - ladies AJO Memorial Champion
Lynne Campbell - ladies AJO Memorial Champion (Supplied)

AJO Bow l– Ladies

At Tenby, home players Sarah Phillips with 39 points and Gill John with 38 points enjoyed the best rounds. Unfortunately, Sarah could not play in the second leg.

At Trefloyne, Lynne Campbell of Trefloyne GC was an easy winner with 40 points.

Evergreen Jean Haig and Anne Morgan, both of Trefloyne GC, each scored 34 points.

Thus, Lynne retained her AJO Ladies Bowl title she won last year with a fine two round total of 75 points.

Sarah Waring and Anne Morgan shared second place with 68 points each.

Lists of all the AJO Memorial prize winners will be posted at both Trefloyne and TenbyGC’s.

Competitors should refer to these in order to collect their winnings.