As winners of the Southern Section of the Welsh Schools Primary Football Competition, Pembrokeshire Schools took their place in the finals at Porthmadog on Saturday, April 25, in a highly competitive atmosphere. The Pembrokeshire players performed well, and were complimented on their standard of football by the organisers.

Pembrokeshire played in the strongest group, which also included Flintshire, Conwy and Swansea.

They just missed getting into the semi-final by one goal difference, which saw Flint and Swansea go through.

This was very disappointing, having had such a great season, getting to the finals unbeaten, but a five-minute spell in the B team game against Swansea proved to be fatal.

Results were as follows: Pembs v Flint - A Team 0-1; B Team 0-0.

Pembs v Conwy - A Team 2-0 (Jack Parkinson 2); B Team 0-0.

Pembs v Swansea - A Team won 2-1 (George Taylor, Scott Jones); B Team lost 0-4.

Congratulations to all the boys who played in the finals and throughout the competition. They were a credit to their schools and football clubs and did Pembrokeshire proud.

Thanks to the parents for all their unfailing support over the season, especially those who made the long journey to Porthmadog. Thanks also to kit sponsor, Wimpy Haverfordwest.

A presentation night will be arranged soon and players will be informed of the date and venue.

Pembrokeshire A squad: Ben Pepper (Puncheston), Harry Goforth (Tenby), George Taylor, Billy Truman (St. Teilo's), Matthew Dickinson, Jack Parkinson, Archie Beaumont-Denning (Saundersfoot), Scott Jones (St. Francis), Liam Cullen (Stepaside), Luke Raymond (Brynconin).

Pembrokeshire B squad: James Harries (Manorbier), Leon Williams, Daniel Williams, Jake Davies (Prendergast), Patrick Pearce, Geraint Harries (Ysgol Glan Cleddau), Dafydd Bevan (Templeton), Nathan Ammesley-Rees (Wolfscastle), James Worrall (St. Oswald's), Dylan Davies (Stackpole).