In the first round of matches of the Nick Evans (The Cricket Shop, Narberth) Indoor Cricket League, at the Meads Leisure Centre, Milford Haven, there were two wins for Haverfordwest, mixed fortunes for Whitland and a day to forget for Cresselly.

In the first match, Whitland scored 129-2, with Matthew Davies, David Dunfee, David Lee and Mark Lee each scoring 25. Nick Davies took 2-20.

Cresselly were bowled out for 59 in reply, with former Whitland player Nick Davies carrying his bat throughout the innings for 30. Four of the Cresselly batsmen were run out.

In the second match, chasing a Haverfordwest total of 91 all out, Adam Davies was caught by Ben Field off the last ball of the innings bowled by Josh Hicks with the Whitland total on 90.

Ben Field with 33 and Danny Potter with 29 were the run-getters for the Town and Paul Davies scored 25 and David Dunfee 24 for Whitland in the narrow one-run defeat.

Cresselly played Haverfordwest in the third match and were 72-5 in response to a Harfat total of 125-5.

Once again Danny Potter was in the runs with 46 not out and Huw Scriven scored 25. For Cresselly, Tom Arthur with 35 not out and Ryan Lewis with 19, were the leading lights with the bat.

Defending champions Neyland, along with Saundersfoot and Pembroke Dock, will compete against each other in the next round of matches on Sunday, January 22.