The current leader of the Welsh Conservative Group on Pembrokeshire County Council, has thrown her hat in the ring to be Pembrokshire County Council’s leader.

Cllr Di Clements, County Councillor for Martletwy has officially announced her candidacy for the position of Council Leader at the upcoming Annual General Meeting on May 10.

Cllr Clements who was voted as Chair of the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority in 2022, said: Councillor Clements said: “It is with a profound sense of duty and optimism that I put my name forward for leader of Pembrokeshire County Council.

“Our community deserves robust leadership that not only understands our unique challenges but also the immense potential of our beautiful county.

“I am proud to call Pembrokeshire my home and I am committed to working hard to ensure we as councillors prioritise spending for the betterment of all residents.”

Cllr Clements who was first elected onto the County Council in 2017, continued: “As your Council Leader, I pledge to ensure that taxpayer funds are spent wisely and not to shy away from the responsibility of managing council spending.

“We must ensure that every pound is invested in a way that delivers real value and benefits directly to the taxpayers of Pembrokeshire.”

Current PCC leader Cllr David Simpson gave official confirmation he was to step down at April 22’s Cabinet meeting, saying his seven-year tenure has been “an honour of a lifetime”.

He became leader of the Local Authority in 2017, after leaving the-then ruling IPPG group after losing confidence in the way cabinet was being run by Cllr Jamie Adams, the leader at the time.

Chairing his final Cabinet meeting as Leader, Cllr Simpson said he was looking forward to spending more time with his family.

“It has been the honour of a lifetime to be the Leader of your council and the best part of the job has been meeting so many people who are committed to making this county a better place to live and work,” said Cllr Simpson, who will continue to serve as the county councillor for Lampeter Velfrey.