Pembrokeshire Council leader and cabinet appointed

By Katy Jenkins   |   Local Democracy Reporter   |
Thursday 26th May 2022 3:23 pm
Pembs council
Pictured (seated, left to right) are: Cllr David Simpson, Leader; Will Bramble, Chief Executive; Cllr Pat Davies, Chairman; Cllr Thomas Tudor, Vice-Chairman; Cllr Simon Hancock, Presiding Member. (standing, left to right): Cllr Paul Miller, Deputy Leader; Mr Peter Davies, Chairman’s consort; Cllr Michael James, Outgoing Chairman; Mrs Rees-Evans, High Sheriff’s consort, and Mr Rees-Evans, High Sheriff of Dyfed. (Pic supplied )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

David Simpson was officially reinstated as leader of the council for the next two years today (Thursday, May 26), with no other councillor standing against him.

In nominating him at the annual council meeting on Thursday (May 26) Clr. Paul Miller said his “faith in his leadership is undiminished” after he “deftly and ably steered the authority” through difficult times.

Clr. Simpson thanked councillors for their support and said he was ready to “get on with running the council.”

Clr. Simpson announced his cabinet at the meeting – with very few change to be made other than to portfolios – and he also appointed a deputy leader “for the first time in five years” and that is Clr. Miller.

He will continue with his economic regeneration portfolio.

Corporate improvement and communities will be the responsibility of Clr. Neil Prior, education and the Welsh language is under Clr. Guy Woodham’s care and Clr. Tessa Hodgson returns to her social care and safeguarding role.

Corporate finance will be overseen by new member Clr. Alec Cormack and the resident services cabinet member is yet to be decided.

Councillors Jon Harvey and Michelle Bateman return to cabinet, overseeing planning and housing delivery and housing operation and regulatory services.

Clr. Simon Hancock was unanimously elected as presiding member for the coming year.

Outgoing chairman Clr. Mike James said it was a “most welcome sight” to see councillors back in the chamber after such a long time adding it is an “honour and privilege to represent our local communities, please do not forget that.”

Clr. James said he had been able to attend 28 events over the last 12 months, highlighting just a few of his favourites, with Cllr Hancock calling him an “absolutely exemplary” chairman who had made an impression around the county.

He was also thanked by council leader Clr. David Simpson, who said: “You sir, have been a champion for this authority and a champion for the county.”

Clr. Pat Davies was elected as chairman of the council for 2022/23, nominated by Clr. Di Clements, who said she is one of the “most respected, dedicated and committed councillors for both the council and the county.”

Clr. Davies will also be deputy-presiding member and the new vice-chairman is Clr. Tom Tudor.

He has been a county councillor since the authorty’s inception, and Clr. Miller said he is a “model of resilience and determination,” praising his hard work over many years.

The Lord-Lieutenant of Dyfed, Miss Sara Edwards, and the High Sheriff of Dyfed, Mr Rowland Rees-Evans, attended the Annual Meeting as guests.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0